Peanut-Free “Peanut Butter” Cookies

This recipe was a major breakthrough for us.  Of all the things I am able to work around, I have not (until now) been able to find a peanut butter substitute for my peanut-allergic son – and it was something he dearly wanted to try.  Since his allergist advised us to avoid ALL nuts, cashew and almond butters were out too.  He was SO excited when we found a soy version at the store!  I brought it home with low expectations as far as flavor, but was pleasantly surprised to find out it tastes amazingly like the real thing.  The first thing he wanted to do was eat a “peanut butter” and jelly sandwich.  The second thing he wanted to do was make his grandma’s peanut butter cookies.  They turned out remarkably well, considering I had to alter the recipe to accommodate the new “peanut butter” and his egg allergy as well.  I would be willing to bet if the original cookie and my cookie were side by side, you wouldn’t be able to see or taste the difference.

Stir together the following:

  • 1/2 cup dairy-free margarine
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

When mixed well, add:

  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup “peanut butter”

Finally, stir in:

  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups of flour

This will be a bit crumbly, but it will hold together.  Take a golf-ball sized piece of dough and knead it in your hand.  Place it on an ungreased cookie sheet (I like to use parchment paper.) and use a fork to flatten and mark it.  Repeat until your sheet is full, then bake at 350* for 10 minutes.

These were a huge hit, and I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

2 thoughts on “Peanut-Free “Peanut Butter” Cookies

    1. I hope so. We have been working around my son’s allergies for almost 8 years now, and one of the most frustrating things has been finding recipes for everyday things. I hate it when he gets left out of things, and I really do hope these recipes help someone else…

Leave a Reply

