Be

20131118-230003.jpg

I may get rapped on the knuckles for this, but I think we are missing the mark if we buy into the idea that we all need to “be ourselves” to the exclusion of everything else. It occurred to me recently that we need to be ourselves, but better. How, you ask? I’m so glad you asked! 😉

Are you ready?

Are you sure?

Ok…here goes nothing.

The secret (if you can call it that) to becoming more is to become LESS.

Uh…what?

Yep. Become more by becoming less. Think of others more than yourself. Inject some kindness into an unkind world.

Be yourself, but kinder and more compassionate.
Be yourself, but more generous with your time and attention.
Be yourself, but more humble.
Be yourself, but be quicker to forgive.
Be yourself, but listen more.

Be yourself, but reconsider your impact on the world around us. Do we really want to glorify self to the point where we become immune to the needs and emotions of those around us?

It is so easy to get lost in “being yourself”…and our culture encourages it. I humbly submit, however, that the person MOST deserving of glory became one of us and lived His life with a servant’s heart, always mindful of the needs of others above His own. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to just “be myself”…I want to be me, but better. I want to be myself, but also be more like Him.

THAT is a resolution I can stick to!!!

Leave a Reply

